To Pack, or Not to Pack…

Posted on

Will and Claire posing with some of our luggage. These suitcases are so large that they fit inside!

…that is is the question.  In most cases, the answer for us is probably “not to pack.”  Since we only get one free checked bag (that can only weigh 51 pounds), and one carry-on bag each, we are trying to take as little as possible with us to the UK.  If it doesn’t fit in our suitcases, it’s not coming.

We do have the option of storing some of our things at our parents’ houses, but we are really trying not to have to rent a storage unit in the States while we’re gone.  That’s an expense we just really don’t want to undertake while we’ll be living in a place where the cost of living is so much higher than it is here.  So, parents get to store some our belongings for us.  Aren’t you glad, parents?!

Even so, we’ve really tried to cull and pare down our belongings that are staying behind.  Last weekend we had an enormous moving sale.  In the rain.  On tax free weekend, no less.  We didn’t quite get the turn-out we were hoping for, but we still sold a lot of stuff.  Many of our things were sold, and afterward, many things were donated to the Family Abuse Center’s second hand shop in Waco.  I still things to go through, but I think the majority of the stuff that is either not going to be stored or packed in our suitcases is gone.  Woo hoo!  I cannot express how freeing it is to see all of those items walking away.

So what are we taking?  Will cannot fathom his life without Legos, so the Legos will be making the trip.  Likewise, Claire loves her mini Disney princesses, and has even started getting in on the Lego action, too.  So, those will also be packed.  How did I get so lucky that my children like tiny little toys?  They also love dress-up, so I’m sure a couple of costumes will be coming as well.  For me, there are a couple of special decor items that will be tucked away into my suitcase.  A beautiful ceramic plaque my friend Jen made for me that reads “God’s blessing rest upon this house, and all who dwell within; may all who enter, too, be blessed,” pictures, my favorite throw blanket, a couple of books, but mostly my clothes.  I don’t really think Scott cares what goes in his suitcase other than clothes.  I’m sure he is going to take a few reference books, as well.

I’ve heard it’s a good idea to take a set of your own measuring cups and spoons as they have different measurements for cooking, and if you are following your own American recipe, you’ll need your American measuring cups, unless you really want to do the metric conversions (which I do not).

Another thing we’re doing is pre-packing some boxes that we’ll have our parents ship to us at a later time after we leave.  For example, I got some of those large flat-rate shipping boxes from the post office, and I filled one with our Christmas stockings, a “cookies for Santa” plate, and several special ornaments, but nothing too fragile.  I also filled another with some craft items that I know I’ll want once I’m there, but that I don’t think I’ll have room for in my suitcase.  Another such box will be filled with taco seasoning, ranch-style beans and salsa.  I don’t know if I’ll make it very long without some Tex-Mex.  I’m pretty attached to that stuff.

Can y’all think of anything else that I should take with me, or pre-pack?  What would you not be able to live without?

About laurenp

I'm a wife, mother of two, and florist from Texas.

3 responses »

  1. What about a stock pile of any toiletries or meds? I have never been to uk do not sure what is available that you are used to? And sensitive skin issues? Might want some detergent to help transition…

    Reply
  2. You will find that you can live without pretty much all of it! 🙂 Also, we had an American store in Copenhagen, so I’m sure there’s one there too for things like pumpkin, etc. that you are missing. You’ll find that you have to cook a lot more “from scratch” than you might have in the past, but you’ll get used to it quickly. It’s going to be a great experience for your whole family, just embrace life in the UK! 🙂

    Reply
  3. YAAYY!! So exciting!! And if you get desperate for TexMex before your box of goodies arrives, there’s always Mission Burrito at the corner of Cornmarket & St. Michaels! (From one Texas girl to another, it’s not exactly the same… but the flavors are pretty spot-on.) You’re getting so close!!

    Reply

Leave a comment